Friday, January 21, 2022
Happening Now

Van Buren To Move To 6th House District Under Republican Redistricting Plan

The state redistricting committee approved a GOP plan to remap Tennessee’s Legislative districts Wednesday.

Under the republican redistricting plan, the sixth house district in which the majority of the region falls under has grown.

All of Van Buren County has been added as well as Scott County. Coffee County leaves for the fourth district. About half of Wilson County remains in the district after being absorbed into the fifth district.

Democratic members of the committee wanted to delay a vote saying they just now had the chance to view the proposed map Wednesday morning. GOP leadership refused and the map will go forward to the next step.

Most controversial state wide the division of Davidson County into at least three districts.