Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Happening Now

Two New Overton Commissioners Appointed

Overton County has two new commissioners.

The county commission approved former county commissioner Shaun Hale for the 3rd district seat and Lee Richards for the 5th district.

Overton County Executive Ben Danner said commissioners resigning is an unusual event.

“I was on the county commission 12 years before I got elected county executive and we had 2 commissioners resign in that 12 years total, so usually it’s not something that happens,” Danner said.

Commissioners made nominations at Monday’s meeting and voted on them then. They’ll take over for Bruce Ledford, who moved to Texas and Jordan Danner, who resigned because of his job. Both of those resignations took place at the August meeting.

“People got elected, you know, the people in that district voted that person in to be their commissioner for four years that’s who they wanted to be there for four years or they wouldn’t have voted for them, so I hate when they do resign but if they’re not going to be able to come to meetings they need to do that anyway,” Danner said.

Hale and Richards will begin serving their terms at the October meeting, Danner said.